Plastic-free July

Standard

Well, I’ve signed up, obviously. Have you?

I’ve not added to this blog for ages, partly because I’m flat out with work, but partly because I really haven’t had anything to add. The struggles remain the same and the message is just not getting through to everybody. However, since it’s plastic-free July, I’m going to make an extra effort.

This week-end I took my son to the cinema and signally failed to avoid plastic as he bought popcorn and a bottle of coke from Morrisons (you don’t think he’s dim enough to buy it from the cinema do you?). That was a Bad Thing as I have popcorn at home and had I been more organised could easily have made it before we went. And that’s the key to all of this: organisation. Plastic has made us lazy. There are always other ways to manage, but they do take time and effort. The question is whether or not one considers the effort worthwhile and sadly, there will always be people who do not. That is why the packaging industry cannot be left to self-regulate. We need legislation now.

 

Leave a comment